jolly good.

Standard

First of all: I’m moving to London. It is the most amazing city I have ever been to. We were so incredibly busy and never stopped moving and I loved every second of it. My lovely friend Stephanie has an incredibly generous Aunt who lent us her 4 story british “cottage” for the weekend. There were phenomenal ivy covered brick buildings, fancy topiaries and pretty PT Cruisers everywhere.

Day One
We rolled out of bed to a kitchen full of cereal, fruit and eggs. I was in heaven. I didn’t have to write my name on all my food, nor did I have to wait for 11 girls to cook before I could. We strolled along the main road and 10 minutes later….my first palace sighting.

Kensington Palace, surrounded by the beautiful Kensington gardens, previous home of Queen Victoria and future home of William and Kate. The newly refurbished museum had opened just the day before. I’d say it was a little bit of magic that we came across it….
Carley and I toured all over, walking through Queen Victoria’s old living chambers, seeing her old belongings, all narrated by words from her own journal. Here are some of my favorite quotes:
“I was not at all nervous and had the satisfaction of hearing that people were stisfied with what I had done and how I had done it”
” I don’t dislike babies, though I think very young ones are rather disgusting”
After Albert’s death: “But how I, who leant on him for all and everything – without whom I did nothing, moved not a finger, arranged not a print or photograph, didn’t put on a gown or bonnet if he didn’t approve it shall be able to go on live, to live, to move.”

"they say no Sovereign was as loved than I am"

"At 6 dearest Albert came to me and stayed till a quarter to 7. We played duets on the piano together"


Her love for her husband Albert and their six children was incredibly present, perhaps even more than her leadership as a monarch. Her presence was incredibly powerful, and it seems as though Britain was ahead of the game on the whole female ruler thing. Kensington palace also contained some fantastic historical garb, and a whole exhibit on Diana’s dresses. Also I’d like to get me some of that Diana wallpaper.

one day.


We then wandered to Harrods! A british department store that is a mix of Henri Bendel and Huckleberry Cafe in Santa Monica. Two of my favorite places in the world. The food court was unreal. We took our petite salads in beautiful bags to Hyde Park where we ate in the sun on the grass surrounded by daises watching families paddleboat along the lake.

missing the five malone-wheatons!

my future home


For dinner, Steph’s aunt took us out for hamburgers! The incredibly swanky Byron Hamburgers had delicious french fries, oreo milkshakes and….portobello burgers. Needless to say, none of us spoke a word the entire meal.

Leave a Reply

